Completed Hats, #6, #7, and #8

Posted on October 22, 2010. Filed under: Completed Hats |

I had quite a lineup of unphotographed hats, but was able to finally get pictures during my open period today.

Pattern: An Unoriginal Hat, designed by Stephanie Pearl-McPhee

Yarn: Aslan Trends Del Sur, White colorway

Pattern: Spring Beret by Natalie Larson

Yarn: Malabrigo Merino Worsted, Velvet Grapes colorway

Pattern: Opus Spicatum, designed by Kate Gagnon Osborn

Yarn: Malabrigo Merino Worsted, Coco and Stone Blue colorways (I think)

The lovely Lauren, with whom I hang out during my open period, kindly agreed to model for me. Thanks Lauren! You’re frustratingly photogenic. Also, for all interested parties, I had another model today:

My friend Nick. Smoldering, right? I think he’s ready for Gentlemen’s Quarterly. Thanks for the use of your camera, Nick!

On the hats- I loved all three of these. Especially the white one- that one will be hard to let go! I was so lucky to find the Del Sur- I wanted to do this pattern in white from the start, but it was hard for me to find a yarn of the proper weight that still had a decent yardage. Del Sur worked perfectly, even though it contained a bit of prickly vegetable matter. I also loved the Malabrigo in Velvet Grapes, another yarn that was donated to me from Churchmouse. I’m usually not a fan of variegated yarn, but they had a sample hat knit in this exact same pattern and color at Churchmouse and I loved it. Mine still needs a good blocking, but I think it looks pretty good. The colors in Opus Spicatum turned out a bit darker than I was expecting, but I think it still looks nice. Malabrigo again, also from Churchmouse.

Speaking of donations, thanks to everyone who’s sent me yarn! Even if I don’t end up using it in the initial 12 hats I make (because I have fairly specific yarn plans for all of those), I will definitely be using all of the yarn that is donated for Hannah’s Hopeful Hats. None of it will go towards my own projects (although in the interest of full disclosure it is quite tempting). Along those lines, I’m thinking I’ll be taking a bit of a break from HHH after I finish the first 12 hats in order to complete a few projects of my own that have fallen by the wayside (including a sweater for my mom’s birthday… which was in August. Oops), but I’ll certainly keep making hats after that. They just won’t be all that I make.

Successful day!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

3 Responses to “Completed Hats, #6, #7, and #8”

RSS Feed for Hannah's Hopeful Hats Comments RSS Feed

These are so beautiful! The hats, I mean, although the models aren’t bad either!

I’m sure your mom will appreciate the sweater more in winter anyways 🙂 Plus it’s for a good cause that her present was delayed!

[…] my 12th hat I’ve met the goal I set for myself with this project! As I said here, I definitely won’t be stopping, and will continue to knit hats and upload photos. However, […]


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Calendar

    October 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Sep   Nov »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • My Inspiration

    With a warrior spirit, you can fight the cancer.

    If you were a kid and you found out you had brain cancer, what would you think about? What would be the worst things that could happen to you if you had cancer? Sadness? Pain? Being tired of all the a​p​p​o​i​n​t​m​e​n​t​s​, treatment, IV’s and years of your life passing you by at the hospital? I wish kids would not go through these things.

    -Hannah Hunt

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

