Completed Hats, #4 and #5

Posted on October 10, 2010. Filed under: Completed Hats |

Pattern: Selbu Modern, designed by Kate Gagnon Osborn

Yarn: Blue Sky Alpacas 100% Alpaca Sport Weight, Denim and Light Tan colorways

Pattern: Sutro Heights Hat, designed by Kiriko Moth

Yarn: Malabrigo Merino Worsted, Vermilion colorway

Thanks to my lovely model Lina. It’s hard to get a picture of Lina where she’s not laughing- which is one of the reasons why I’m friends with her. I really liked how these two hats turned out, and I have to admit, it will be kind of hard to give them away! I put so much time and energy into knitting that when I’m finished I really like to be able to wear and enjoy what I create, or at least see someone I care about wear and enjoy it. It makes me feel connected to the recipient to know that hours of my work have gone into making them feel warm, comforted, and loved. However, because I don’t know who will be receiving these hats, I don’t get that immediate satisfaction- I just have to have faith that the wearer and I will feel connected all the same.

Wow, that was corny. Over and out.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

4 Responses to “Completed Hats, #4 and #5”

RSS Feed for Hannah's Hopeful Hats Comments RSS Feed

Oh my goodness – you are SO TALENTED at knitting! I can’t believe how complex those patterns must be. I know just enough about knitting to know that those are totally out of my league. Well done! You are going to make those patients very, very happy!

Dear Caro, this is a very sweet idea. I am a knitter also, so I recognize a very tricky pattern when I see one. You are GOOD at the craft, and it helps to have such a special cause to use your talents. You go, girl.

Caroline – if you interested I would love to help you knit. I have knit chemo caps for both my mother (ovarian cancer) and one of my best friends (breast cancer and uterine cancer). I have a pattern and use really soft yard from Churchmouse in beautiful colors. Let me know if you’re interested in any more hats.

You can certainly knit if you’re interested! Just send me an email at hannahshopefulhats@gmail.com for how you can send hats to me.


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Calendar

    October 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Sep   Nov »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • My Inspiration

    With a warrior spirit, you can fight the cancer.

    If you were a kid and you found out you had brain cancer, what would you think about? What would be the worst things that could happen to you if you had cancer? Sadness? Pain? Being tired of all the a​p​p​o​i​n​t​m​e​n​t​s​, treatment, IV’s and years of your life passing you by at the hospital? I wish kids would not go through these things.

    -Hannah Hunt

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

